Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Print This Page
Share this page: More

Marek A. Mirski MD, PhD

Marek A. Mirski MD, PhD

Director, Neuroscience Critical Care Units
Chief, Division of Neuroanesthesiology
Co-Director, Johns Hopkins Comprehensive Stroke Center
Professor, Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine, Neurology, Neurosurgery

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
1800 Orleans Street
Sheikh Zayed Tower 3014C
Baltimore, MD 21287
Telephone: 410-955-2611 Fax: 410-614-7903
Download CV

Dr. Marek Mirski’s current laboratory research involves the investigation of the subcortical mechanisms of seizure propagation and cortical synchrony.  Major efforts are directed toward the development of methodologies for seizure inhibition via site-specific subcortical electrical stimulation. The principal finding of his research—identification of synaptically linked subcortical elements important in seizure propagation—has led to FDA-sanctioned Phase III clinical trials of targeted thalamic stimulation in patients with intractable seizures. Dr. Mirski also conducts primary research in the treatment of brain edema, ICU sedation, and acute stroke.

Additional research activities include investigation of the proconvulsant action of novel alpha2-receptor agonists and pharmacologic osmolar control of elevated intracranial pressure following acute head injury. Major clinical investigations are focused on the treatment of elevated intracranial pressure, cerebral edema, ICU sedation, and clinical trials for ischemic stroke and head injury.

Professional Activities

  • Editorial Boards: Journal NeuroCritical Care; Tzu Chi Medical Journal (Taiwan)
  • FAER Awards Committee, American Society of Anesthesiology (2003–2005)
  • Finance Secretary, Society of NeuroCritical Care (2005–2007)
  • Scientific Co-Chair, Critical Care Committee, American Society of Anesthesiology (2002–present)
  • Scientific Co-Chair, Epilepsy Committee, American Academy of Neurology (2003–present)
  • Board Member, Society of NeuroCritical Care (2004–2007)
  • American Society of Anesthesiology
  • Society of Neurosurgical Anesthesia and Critical Care
  • Society of Critical Care Medicine
  • American Epilepsy Society
  • American Academy of Neurology
  • American Neurological Association
  • Society of Critical Care Medicine

Selected Publications

  1. Bhardwaj A, Mirski MA, Ulatowski JA, eds. Handbook of Neurocritical Care.  Totowa, NJ: The Human Press Inc., 2004.
  2. Ziai WC, Sherman DL, Zhang N, Bhardwaj A, Mirski MA. Target-specific catecholamine elevation induced by anticonvulsant thalamic deep brain stimulation. Epilepsia 46:878–88, 2005.
  3. Bhatti N, Mirski MA, Tatlipinar A, Koch WM, Goldenberg D. Reduction of complication rate in percutaneous dilation tracheotomy. Study of 318 consecutive patients. Otolaryngology 117:172–5, 2007.
  4. Mirski MA, Nyquist P, Toung TJ. Effect of hypertonic saline concentration on cerebral and visceral organ water in an uninjured rodent model. Crit Care Med 36(1):256–61, 2008.
  5. Hamani C, Hodaie M, Chiang J, del Campo M, Andrade DM, Sherman DL, Mirski MA, Mello LE, Lozano AM. Deep brain stimulation in the anterior thalamus: Effects of electrical stimulation on pilocarpine-induced seizures and status epilepticus. Epilepsy Res 78(2–3):117–23, 2008.
  6. Koenig  MA, Bryan M, Lewin JJ, Mirski MA, Geocadin RG, Stevens RD. Reversal of transtentorial herniation with hypertonic saline. Neurology 70(13):1023–9, 2008.

Laboratory Members/Key Associates

Lab Manager
Kathy Kibler, BS

Faculty/Research Associates/Instructors
David Gracias, PhD
Wendy Ziai, MD
Jason Chiang, BS
Nitish Thakor, PhD
John Lewin III, PharmD, BCPS
Elizabeth Zink MS, RN, CCRN, CRNP
Shannon Ledroux, BS
Vinciya Pandian, PhDc, CRNP
Thomas Toung, MD

Clinical Coordinator
Shannon Ledroux, BS

Christos Lazaridis, MD
Athir Morad, MD
Adam Schiavi, MD
Alexander Papangelou, MD
Hans Puttgen, MD
Scott Marshall, MD
Jennifer Berkeley, MD
Dedrick Jordan, MD
Kristi Lanning, MD

David Gracias, PhD, JHU Department of Bioengineering, Division of Nanotechnology
Nitish Thakor, PhD, JHU Department of Biomedical Engineering
David L. Sherman, PhD, Infinite Biomedical Technologies


  • Co-Winner, Neuroscience Research Prize
    • Washington University/St. Louis Medical Center (1986)
  • First Johns Hopkins Medicine Joint Director
  • Most Influential Physician, Queen’s Medical Center, Honolulu, Hawaii (1998)
  • Founding Director, Queen’s Neuroscience Institute, Honolulu, Hawaii (1996)
    • Neurosciences Critical Care Division and Neuroanesthesiology (1999–present)