Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Print This Page
Share this page: More

2009 Research Day

Congratulations to the 2009 Research Day Award Recipients!

Gold: Jennifer Lee
Silver: Jian-Hong Zhu

Immunity, Sepsis, and Cancer
Gold: Constance L. Monitto
Gold: Davinna L. Ligons
Silver: Gautam Sikka

Innovation in Education
Gold: Jordan Duval-Arnould
Silver: Michael C. McCrory

Gold: Courtney Robertson
Silver: Jian Wang

Gold: Fidelis E. Atianjoh
Silver: Shivani Patel

Patient Safety
Gold: David A. Thompson
Silver: Christina Miller

Perioperative Medicine
Gold: Chau Uong
Gold: Jennifer Mytar
Gold: Marek Mirski

Gold: Chunling Fan
Silver: Kazuyo Yamaji-Kegan

11th Annual ACCM Research Day

Monday, December 14, 2009

 Turner Concourse from 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.  

ABSTRACT DEADLINE - November 18, 2009 by 9:00 a.m.

The format of the Research Day event will be somewhat different from that in years past.  When submitting your entry, you will be asked to choose a research category that best relates to your focus.  If your entry relates to more than one research category, choose the one that is most applicable.  Abstracts will then be grouped by category after submission to promote discussions in breakout sessions during the event.

Each presenter within a category will be allowed 2 minutes to speak about his/her poster.  A pre-selected faculty member and fellow will serve as moderators for each group.  Due to time limitations, sessions will run concurrently on the following schedule:

9:00a.m. - 2:00p.m.:  Poster Set-Up in the Turner Concourse

3:00p.m. - 4:00p.m.:  Research Day begins

4:00p.m. - 4:45p.m.:  Breakout Sessions #1

5:00p.m. - 5:45p.m.:  Breakout Sessions #2

6:00p.m. - 6:45p.m.:  Breakout Session #3

6:45p.m. - 7:00p.m.:  Awards

7:00p.m.:                     Event Closes – Posters removed

Awards: One winning poster and one runner-up will be chosen in each category by a panel of judges prior to the Research Day event and announced at the event. 

*Winners will receive $100 and runners-up will receive $50.*

Hot hors d’oeuvres and drinks will be available throughout the event.

Luncheon: On Tuesday, December 15th, at 12:00 p.m. in the Turner Auditorium a special luncheon seminar will be given by guest speaker Keith Burridge, Ph.D., from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Dr. Keith Burridge
Keith Burridge, Ph.D.

Abstract Submission: To submit your abstract, complete the form below as outlined in the example for your abstract and submission information.  Please use the blank template to enter your information.  Then email the form and your abstract to  

View and download submission form

Historically, this day has provided an opportunity for those affiliated with ACCM to share research that they have conducted over the past year as well as ideas for future research projects. ACCM Research Day has proven to be an informative, collegial day filled with esprit de corps and one that has been beneficial to the interactions and collaborations of the scientists involved.

We strongly encourage the participation of all ACCM students, fellows, residents, and faculty members. Abstracts that were recently presented at national and international meetings, as well as more recent findings, can be included in this ACCM Annual Research Day!

A final program containing all abstracts will be distributed at Grand Rounds on Thursday, December 10th.

If you have any event-related questions, please contact Jessica Towns at , and Dr. Lew Romer at for science-related questions.

The Research Day Committee looks forward to seeing everyone at the event.

Lew Romer (faculty organizer)

Jessica Towns    Claire Levine    Kathy Shade Hooper