javascript image slider

Executive Team and Leadership

Serving Leadership

Currently, the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine is embarking on an initiative to instill Serving Leadership values throughout the department. 

Some brief facts about Serving Leadership:

  • Serving Leadership emphasizes the role a leader plays as a steward of the resources of the organization, and encourages the sharing of leadership with others as the best way of achieving the most important goals of the organization.
  • Serving Leadership emphasizes collaboration, trust, compassionate presence, and the ethical use of power.
  • The objective of a Serving Leader is to enhance the growth of individuals in the organization, and increase teamwork and personal involvement.


Senior Administrator Tammy Snyder

Vice Chairs

Biomedical Research Dan Berkowitz, MBBCh
Clinical Operations Jerry Stonemetz, MD
Education Mary Beth Brady, MD
Faculty and Staff Development Nauder Faraday, MD, MPH
ICU Operations Todd Dorman, MD, FCCM
Human Resources and Patient Experience Robert Thomsen, MD
Quality, Safety and Service Tracey Smith-Stierer, MD
System Integration Kayode A. Williams, MD, MBA, FFARCSI


Compliance Martin K. Slodzinski, MD, PhD
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists Andrew Benson, MSN, Assistant Chief
Scheduling Laurie Antonik, MD, MBA

Clinical Division Chiefs

Adult Anesthesiology Division Steven M. Frank, MD
Adult Critical Care Medicine Division Adam Sapirstein, MD
Ambulatory Anesthesia Division Ed Nguyen, MD
Bayview Medical Center, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine Division Frederick Sieber, MD
Cardiac Anesthesia Division Dan E. Berkowitz, MBBCh
Howard County General Hospital, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine Division Bernard Marquis, MD
Neuroanesthesia Division Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD
Neurosciences Critical Care Division Juan Ricardo Carhuapoma, MD, FAHA
Obstetric, Gynecologic and Fetal Anesthesiology Division Jamie Murphy, MD
Ophthalmological Anesthesia Division - The Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins Richard Rivers, MD, PhD, MBA
Pain Medicine and Pain Research Division Steven P. Cohen, MD
Pediatric Anesthesia Division John McCloskey, MD
Pediatric Remote Anesthesia Division Joanne Shay, MD
Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management Division Marie N. Hanna, MBBCh

Center Directors

Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD, FCCM
The Center for Bloodless Medicine and Surgery Steven M. Frank, MD
Preoperative Evaluation Center Jerry Stonemetz, MD

Unit Directors

Adult Intensive Care Unit Theresa L. Hartsell, MD, PhD
Adult Post-Anesthesia Care Unit Mary Beth Brady, MD
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit Jamie Schwartz, MD
Pediatric Post-Anesthesia Care Unit Rahul Koka, MD

Medical Directors

Regional Pain Program Steven Levin, MD
Acute Pain Service, Bayview Medical Center Vicente Garcia Tomas, MD
Obstetric Anesthesia, Bayview Medical Center Steven Beaudry, DO
Operating Rooms, Bayview Medical Center Renee Blanding, MD
Weinberg Surgical Suites Lynette Mark, MD

Education Services

Fellowship Directors

Adult Critical Care Fellowship Theresa L. Hartsell, MD, PhD
Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellowship Daniel Nyhan, MD, MMBCh
Neurosciences Critical Care Fellowship Wendy Ziai, MD, MPH
Pain Medicine Fellowship Michael Erdek, MD
Pediatric Anesthesia Fellowship Dolores B. Njoku, MD
Pediatric Critical Care Fellowship James C. Fackler, MD
Obstetric Anesthesia Fellowship Gillian Isaac, MD


Residency Education Deborah Schwengel, MD
Chief Resident Brian Cho, MD
Chief Resident Stephen Freiberg, MD
Chief Resident Gina Kim, MD
Postgraduate Critical Care Residency for Physician Assistants Bradford J. Winters, MD, PhD

Medical Student Education

Medical Student Education Program Tina Tran, MD
Jed Wolpaw, MD, M.ED

Training Programs

Regional Anesthesia Training Program Jason Brookman, MD


International Obstetric and Regional Anesthesia Jean-Pierre Ouanes, DO
Soteria Global Alliance John Sampson, MD

Research Program

Perioperative Clinical and Translational Research Program Nauder Faraday, MD, MPH
Postdoctoral Research Training Program Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD

Respiratory Care

Respiratory Care Sajid H. Manzoor, BS, RRT, RSPGT, MEd

Anesthesiology Events

Discovery and Innovation Calendar

Anesthesiology Grand Rounds

ACCM Grand Rounds take place Thursdays at 7 AM in Hurd Hall. Windows Media Player is required to view webcasts.

9/22: Discovery Rounds (12 PM, Chevy Chase Conference Room) – Viachaslau Barodka, MD, Nicola Heller, PhD

9/29: Quality Assurance Committee Meeting

10/6: Abraham Endowed Lecture – Shad Deering, COL, MD, FACOG

Understanding Child Abuse: From Neurobiology to Social Policy – Joan Kaufman, MD
Watch webcast >>

Combined Multidisciplinary Grand Rounds (Turner Auditorium): Strengthening Culture at JHH: – Kathleen Sutcliffe, PhD, Christopher Myers, PhD
Watch webcast >>

Archived webcasts >>


Out of State and International Patients

Make a Gift



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System, All rights reserved.

Legal Disclaimer