javascript image slider

Frederick Sieber, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
Department Chairman and Director of Clinical Research

Johns Hopkins Medicine Bayview Medical Center
4940 Eastern Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland 21224

Phone: 410-550-0942
Appointment Phone: 410-955-8408

Download CV Adobe PDF

Biographical Sketch

Dr. Frederick E. Sieber is a professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He serves as chair and director of Clinical Research of the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Sieber received a B.A. in chemistry from Northwestern University and an M.D. from the University of Pittsburgh. He completed a medical internship at the Pennsylvania Hospital in Philadelphia. After a residency in anesthesiology and a fellowship in neuroanesthesiology at the University of Pennsylvania, he joined the Johns Hopkins faculty in 1985.

His research interests focus on problems specific to geriatric surgical patients and on optimization of their surgical outcomes. Through multidisciplinary clinical research, he studies elderly surgical patients, especially those undergoing orthopaedic procedures.

Dr. Sieber is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the International Anesthesia Research Society, the Association of University Anesthesiologists and the Society for Advancement of Geriatric Anesthesia. He serves as president-elect of the Society for Advancement of Geriatric Anesthesia and is a member of that organization’s Committee on Geriatric Anesthesia. He is board certified in anesthesiology and critical care medicine.

Dr. Sieber's Research

The research of Dr. Frederick (Fritz) Sieber focuses on prevention of postoperative delirium in geriatric patients. Through a multidisciplinary clinical research team, he studies elderly surgical patients, especially those undergoing orthopedic and pelvic procedures. Several trials are ongoing. In an NIH-funded clinical trial in which Dr. Sieber is principle investigator, his research team is investigating the effects of depth of sedation (as measured by processed electroencephalography and a clinical sedation score) during spinal anaesthesia and using propofol for sedation on the incidence of postoperative delirium, cognitive dysfunction, and mortality in elderly hip fracture patients. This trial addresses the question as to whether anesthetic dose and depth are  possible risk factors for prevention of postoperative delirium in the elderly. In addition, Dr. Sieber is working closely with Dr. Esther Oh in the department of Geriatrics, to determine whether blood and cerebrospinal fluid samples obtained during this trial might provide useful biomarkers for early detection of patients at risk for cognitive problems following surgery. In another trial, using near infrared spectroscopy to analyze cerebrovascular autoregulation, Dr. Sieber and his team are examining the effects of surgical positioning and the use of the robot during surgery, on cerebrovascular physiology. The information provided by this study will inform as to the effects of the robot and surgical positioning on cerebral blood flow. Dr. Sieber has an active clinical practice and will see patients prior to and after surgery in consultation regarding perioperative cognitive dysfunction.

Professional Activities

  • Society for Advancement of Geriatric Anesthesia
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Association of University Anesthesiologists

Learn more about Dr. Frederick Sieber

Dr. Sieber's Biomedical Research Bio

Learn more about Biomedical Research


Grand Rounds

Grand Rounds take place Thursdays at 7 AM in Hurd Hall. Windows Media Player is required to view webcasts.

4/16: "Supporting Biomedical Research in Tough Fiscal Times... Thoughts from NHLBI" – Michael Lauer, MD
Watch webcast >>

Combined Multidisciplinary Grand Rounds with Nursing (Turner Auditorium)
Palliative Care Update – Thomas Smith, MD and Rebecca Aslakson, MD, PhD
Watch webcast >>

"Serving Leadership" – John Porcari, Third River Partners
Watch webcast >>

"Quality in Anesthesiology: An Update from the AQI" – Richard Dutton , Executive Director of the Anesthesia Quality Institute
Watch webcast >>

"ACCM Strategic Plan" – Colleen Koch, MD, MS, MBA, FACC, ACCM Director
Watch webcast >>

Archived webcasts >>


Out of State and International Patients

Make a Gift



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System, All rights reserved.

Legal Disclaimer