An image of the Charlotte R. Bloomberg Children's Center and Sheikh Zayed Tower

Postdoctoral Research Training Program

Postdoctoral Research Training Program


The Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) was recently awarded a National Research Service Award (T-32) for Postdoctoral Research Training in Anesthesiology by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), whose program objectives are summarized below. This will permit an even greater diversity of research training opportunities in ACCM which we’ve conceptualized as the multidisciplinary intersection of Cell and Molecular approaches, Systems and Integrative approaches, and approaches involving Outcomes and Epidemiology. This is reflected by the Research Interests of the Mentors listed in the table below. Please contact Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD for additional information.

Program Goals & Objectives

The overall program objectives are given by NIH as follows:

  • To develop clinician-scientists who will be leaders in the field of anesthesia research.
  • The programs should provide multidisciplinary research training to help develop individuals with the skills and expertise to explore research problems relevant to anesthesiology, including the fundamental mechanisms of anesthetic action.
  • To provide rigorous postdoctoral research training with an emphasis on hypothesis-driven laboratory or clinical research.
  • Trainees, most of whom would hold the MD degree, will be expected to spend at least 2 years in the training program and devote a minimum of 80 percent effort toward their research. Most trainees will be recruited from anesthesiology residency programs, but individuals from other clinical specialties may be considered if their research interest is focused on problems in anesthesiology.
  • For trainees with the PhD degree, the research and training should be specifically designed to promote a research career addressing problems in anesthesiology and should provide opportunities to enhance their research training with a clinical perspective.
  • Trainees should have the opportunity to acquire fundamental knowledge and research techniques in such disciplines as biochemistry, biophysics, cell biology, molecular biology, neurobiology, pharmacology, or physiology.
  • The training experience should be enhanced by providing programmatic activities, such as a seminar series and journal club, and may include specific courses if well justified, such as those on research techniques/approaches or biomedical statist cs.
  • The training faculty should be multidisciplinary and may include both clinician-scientists and basic scientists as potential mentors.

Program Mentors and Directors

Research opportunities are not limited to the given mentors, and can take place with any qualified Johns Hopkins faculty member. For each trainee, an individualized Research Training Program will be formulated with input from the appropriate Mentors and Program Directors. Program mentors are listed in the following table.

Mentor Appointment(s) Research Interests
Dan E. Berkowitz, MBBCh Anesthesiology; Biomedical Engineering Vascular Biology; Age-Related Endothelial Dysfunction
Robert H. Brown, MD, MPH Anesthesiology; Radiology; Environmental Health Sciences (Bloomberg School of Public Health) Pulmonary Physiology; Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease; Perioperative Outcomes Related to Pulmonary Function
Michael J. Caterina
Biochemistry; Neuroscience Molecular Mechanism of Peripheral Nociception
Nauder Faraday
Anesthesiology,Surgery Molecular and Cellular Biology of Platelet Function; Genetic Determinants of Perioperative Outcome
Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD** Anesthesiology Anesthetic Mechanisms; Acute Pain; Sensory Neurobiology; Computational/Theoretical Neuroscience
Roger A. Johns, MD Anesthesiology Vascular Biology; Molecular Biology of Anesthesia and Analgesia
Raymond C. Koehler, PhD Anesthesiology Environmental Health Sciences (Bloomberg School of Public Health) Vascular Biology of the Brain; Cerebral Injury Following Stroke and Cardiac Arrest
Richard Meyer, M.S. Neurosurgery; Biomedical Engineering Neurobiology of Pain; Neuropathic Pain
Wayne A. Mitzner, PhD Environmental Health Sciences (Bloomberg School of Public Health);Anesthesiology; Biomedical Engineering; Medicine Vascular Mechanics; Pulmonary Physiology; Airway Smooth Muscle; Lung Imaging; Emphysema
Laura Morlock, PhD Health Policy and Management (Bloomberg School of Public Health) Organizational and Managerial Factors and the Quality and Cost of Health Care
Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD* Anesthesiology; Surgery; Health Policy and Management (Bloomberg School of Public Health) Safety and Long-Term Outcomes in Intensive Care Settings
Srinivasa N. Raja, MD Anesthesiology Neurobiology of Pain; Neuropathic Pain
Richard Rivers, MD, PhD Anesthesiology Vascular Biology of the Microcirculation
Lewis Romer, MD Anesthesiology Endothelial Cell Adhesion; Cytoskeletal Biology
Donald H. Shaffner, MD Anesthesiology Clinical Application of Neuroresuscitation Therapy
Artin A. Shoukas, PhD Biomedical Engineering; Physiology Cardiovascular Regulation and Control
Albert W. Wu, MD, MPH Health Policy and Management; Epidemiology; International Health (Bloomberg School of Public Health); Internal Medicine Long-Term Outcomes of Health Care Delivery

** Director
* Associate Directors

How To Apply


Postdoctoral Research Training Program
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
600 N. Wolfe Street, Meyer 8-134
Baltimore, MD 21287-7834

Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD
Allan Gottschalk, MD, PhD
Program Director


Grand Rounds
Calendar and Webcasts

Grand Rounds take place Thursdays at 7 AM in Hurd Hall.

9/25: Quality Assurance Committee Meeting

10/2: "Patient And Family-Centered Approach To Advance Care Planning" – Rebecca Aslakson, MD, PhD
Watch webcast >>

10/9: Patient-Based Learning Discussion – Tracey Smith Stierer, MD

Eighth Robert A. Abraham, MD Endowed Lecture: "Post-Cesarean Pain Management: Past, Present, and Future" – Brendan Carvalho, MBBCh, FRCA, MDCH
Watch webcast >>
Learn more about Robert A. Abraham, MD >>

"Translational Therapies for Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury" – Courtney Robertson, MD
Watch webcast >>

Archived webcasts >>


Out of State and International Patients

Make a Gift



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System, All rights reserved.

Legal Disclaimer