Skip Navigation
Search Menu
About Johns Hopkins Medicine

In This Section      
Print This Page

Jonathan Lewin: Biographies

Jonathan Lewin

Jonathan Lewin

Dr. Jonathan Lewin has served as the Martin Donner Professor and Chairman of the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science at Johns Hopkins University and the radiologist-in-chief at The Johns Hopkins Hospital since 2004.

In these roles, he has masterfully led one of the preeiminent radiology departments in the nation, bringing with him a visionary approach and profound expertise in interventional and intraoperative imaging. He also holds secondary appointments as a professor of oncology, neurosurgery, and biomedical engineering.

In addition to his departmental duties, Dr. Lewin has also been instrumental in the development of the five-year Johns Hopkins Medicine Strategic Plan. During the planning process -- which he helped spearhead -- his sharp insights and input as a leader, clinician and researcher have proven invaluable.

Before joining Johns Hopkins, Dr. Lewin was the director of the Division of Magnetic Resonance Imaging and vice chairman for research and academic affairs in the Department of Radiology at Case Western Reserve University and the University Hospitals of Cleveland.

He received his undergraduate degree in chemistry from Brown University in 1981 and his doctor of medicine from Yale University in 1985. He completed his internship at Yale-New Haven Hospital and residency in diagnostic radiology at University Hospitals of Cleveland as well as a magnetic resonance research fellowship in Germany, a neuroradiology fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic, and additional training in Head and Neck Radiology at the Pittsburgh Eye and Ear Hospital.

An acknowledged pioneer in his field, Dr. Lewin has published 180 peer-reviewed manuscripts and over 60 chapters, reviews, commentaries, and other invited papers. He is an inventor on over 20 patents, and has been principle investigator and co-principal investigator on NIH and other federal and state grants with awards of over $10 million in direct costs.

A fellow of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and of the American College of Radiology, he currently serves as an executive officer for the Association of University Radiologists, American Roentgen Ray Society, Academy of Radiology Research, Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments, and the International Society for Strategic Studies in Radiology, and serves on the Board of Chancellors of the American College of Radiology.