Skip Navigation
Search Menu
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Committee on Outside Interests

Committee on Outside Interests

The Committee on Outside Interests, appointed by the Dean, reviews arrangements that have potential for conflict of interest.  The Committee makes recommendations to the Dean of the School of Medicine (or the Dean's designee, the Vice Dean for Research) and to the Johns Hopkins Medicine IRBs.

Committee members serve three-year terms, and cannot serve more than two consecutive terms.  Representatives of the the Office of Policy Coordination, the JHU Office of General Counsel, the Johns Hopkins Technology Transfer Office, and the Office of Research Administration participate in Committee meetings.  The Committee meets once a month.

The current members of the Committee are:

Voting Members 
Dan Berkowitz, M.B.Bch.Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
Jeanne Clark, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P.Interim Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Charles Flexner, M.D.Professor, Medicine (Clinical Pharmacology)
Se-Jin Lee, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Molecular Biology and Genetics
Aleksander Popel, Ph.D.Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Christopher Ross, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Jeffrey Rothstein, M.D., ChairProfessor, Neurology
Frederick Savage, J.D.Interim General Counsel, JHU
Karen Swartz, M.D.Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Bruce Trock, Ph.D.Professor, Urology
Victor Velculescu, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Oncology
Donald Zack, M.D., Ph.D.Professor, Ophthalmology
Non-Voting Participants 
Mike Amey, M.A.S.Associate Dean, Research Administration
Christina Doty, J.D., M.A.Director, Outside Interests, Office of Policy Coordination
Ami Gadhia, J.D., L.L.M., C.L.P.Portfolio Director - Technology Licensing, Johns Hopkins Technology Transfer
Julie Gottlieb, M.A.Associate Dean, Policy Coordination
Mary DonahueAssistant Disclosure Specialist, Office of Policy Coordination
VacantDisclosure Specialist, Office of Policy Coordination
Landon King, M.D.Executive Vice Dean, Professor, Medicine (Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine)
Antony Rosen, M.D.Vice Dean for Research, Director, Division of Rheumatology, Professor Of Medicine, Professor of Pathology
Nicole Leonard, J.D.Deputy Director, Office of Research Administration
Michael Wolsh, J.D., LL.M.Disclosure Specialist, Office of Policy Coordination
IRB Staff MemberOffice of Human Subjects Research

Committee FAQs

What should I do if I am interested in serving on the Committee on Outside Interests?

Faculty interested in serving on the Committee should contact the Office of Policy Coordination.

May I attend the meeting and present my case to the Committee?

Individuals with matters before the Committee generally do not attend Committee meetings.  Investigators are invited to meet with the Committee on occasion, particularly for complex cases.